Issue #42 in 2024 year, 30-58

“Сommunism is declared in Сoahuila”. Episode from the history of the Mexican Revolution (1912)

V. Damier

The article deals with a little-known and little-studied episode from the history of the Mexican Revolution of 1910-1917, the proclamation of communism by anarchist guerrillas in the state of Coahuila in 1912. A brief but vivid history of the guerrillas, organized by the Magonists from the Mexican Liberal Party (PLM) at one of the key moments of the revolution, is considered in the context of the general role of the anarchist movement at various stages of the revolution in Mexico, of evolution of its ideology, strategy and tactics. An attempt has been made to assess the significance of the events under consideration for the development of the anarchist movement in the world. PLM, led by brothers Riсardo and Enrique Flores Magon, was in 1906-1908 the first political force that launched a rebel movement against the dictatorship of Porfirio Diaz, and in 1910-1911 made a significant contribution to the overthrow of the regime. However, after this, the leadership of the Mexican Liberal Party officially switched to the position of anarchism, and its supporters tried to organize a guerrilla movement with the aim of carrying out a social revolution in Mexico. Although the PLM rebel forces were crushed by superior government forces in 1912, and many of their members were killed, the proclamation of anarchist communism by a group of guerrillas on February 9, 1912 in the Mexican state of Coahuila, one of the traditional areas of influence of the Magonists, was the first act of this kind in the history of world anarchist movement and served as an example for anarchists in other countries. 

Anarchism, anarchist communism, guerrilla movement, Magonism, Mexico, revolution.

Abad de Santillán D. Ricardo Flores Magón: El Apóstol de la Revolución. Buenos Aires; La Plata, 2011.

Amador Turcios C. El anarquismo mexicano visto a través de Regeneración, 1910-1918. Tesis que para optar por el grado de Maestra en Filosofía / Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. Programa de Maestría y Doctorado en Filosofía. Facultad de Filosofía y Letras. Instituto de Investigaciones Filosóficas. México D.F., 2014. 

Bartra A., Barrera J. La revolución magonista (Cronología narrativa). México, 2018. 

Ciudad Acuña, Coahuila [Электронный ресурс]. URL: (Дата обращения: 27.06.2024)  

El magonismo en Coahuila / Introducción y selección de J. Miguel Flores. Saltillo, 2006.

Flores Magón R. Obras completas. Vol. IX. Regeneración (1912). México D.F., 2014.

Flores Magón R. Obras completas. Vol. XI. Regeneración (1915). México D.F., 2015.

Flores Magón R. Programa del Partido Liberal y Manifiesto a la nación. México D.F., 1992.

Hart J. M. Anarchism & The Mexican Working Class, 1860-1931. Austin, 1987.

Hernández S. For a Just & Better World: Engendering Anarchism in the Mexican Borderlands, 1900-1938. Champaign, 2021. 

Katz F. The Life and Times of Pancho Vila. Broadway, 1998.

Knight A. The Mexican Revolution. Vol. 1. Porfirians, Liberals and Peasants. Cambridge, 1986.

Martínez Sánchez L. El centro de Coahuila, Monclova durante la Revolución 1910-1920. Saltillo, 2011. 

Medina Zapata J. J. Acuña: historia y progreso. Saltillo, 2016. 

Medina Zapata J. J. Acuña: libro-guía de turismo. México, 2020.  

Olvera L. La revolución social en el norte de México y las comunas anarquistas del Partido Liberal Mexicano 1911-1915. México, 2021.

Pasztor S. B. The Spirit of Hidalgo: The Mexican Revolution in Coahuila. Calgary; East Lansing, 2002. 

Raat W. D. Revoltosos: Mexico`s Rebels in the United States, 1903-1923. College Station, 1981. 

Salmerón Sanjinés P. Los rebeldes contra la revolución: Los disidentes agrarios de 1912 // Disidencia y disidentes en la historia de México / Ed. F. Castro, M. Terrazas. México, 2003. P. 321-350.

Trejo R. Magonismus: Utopie und Praxis in der Mexikanischen Revolution 1910-1913 / Übersetzt von M. Schwarzbach. Lich, 2006.

Trejo R. Magonismo: utopía y revolución. 1910-1913. Barcelona, 2010. 

Ulloa B. Revolución Mexicana. 1910­-1920. México, 1963.